To promote and enable outdoor education and activity

Log in

Login    

Outdoor Activity Club

The OCC Outdoor Activity Club is an outdoor leadership development opportunity for youth between the ages of 16 and 30 located in Calgary, Alberta. Participants will to learn how to lead themselves and others outdoors, develop project management skills, and receive certifications in outdoor leadership and first aid. For their graduation project, they and their team will design and deliver their own outdoor experience for a group of children.

Who: Youth between the ages of 16 – 30 years old

Requirements: Participants must be between the ages of 16 and 30 years old, be either a Canadian citizen, permanent resident, or have been granted refugee status in Canada, and be able to complete a criminal record check.

There is no wilderness, outdoor leadership, employment or volunteering experience required, although it is welcomed. Participants are expected to have a positive and respectful attitude, open mind, willingness to learn, and a high level of reliability.

This is a physical program and participants will be hiking, paddling, biking and expected to go long periods of time walking or standing.


What: This program uses outdoor activities/ sports as the vehicle to teach essential life, leadership, volunteer, and outdoor skills.

Through a combination of instruction, volunteerism and participant-led experiences and planning, this  multi-faceted program strives to foster community connection and confidence in local youth. Participants will become outdoor literate, while learning to communicate and collaborate as part of a multi-cultural team co-managing projects from inception to execution. Participants will leave feeling empowered and inspired by the benefits of being active community members.

Certifications and skills gained

  • Wilderness First Aid Certification
  • Outdoor Council of Canada Field Leader Certification
  • Outdoor Council of Canada Field Leader (Overnight) Certification
  • Outdoor competence & confidence
Map and compass
Leave no trace
Animal awareness
Fire building
Group management
Paddle skills
Bike skills
Camping skills
  • Safety & risk management skills
  • Project management skills
  • Volunteer experience & information
  • Communication, collaboration, and relationship building
  • Self-efficacy and resiliency

When:

Part-time evenings (4-8pm) and weekends (several overnight) January - March, 2020

Wednesday 08-Jan-20 4-8pm

Saturday 11-Jan-10 9-5pm

Monday 13-Jan-20 4-8pm

Wednesday 15-Jan-20 4-8pm

Saturday 18-Jan-20 9-5pm

Monday 20-Jan-20 4-8pm

Wednesday 22-Jan-20 4-8pm

Saturday 25-Jan-20 9-5pm

Sunday 26-Jan-20 9-5pm

Tuesday 28-Jan-20 6-10pm

Thursday 30-Jan-20 6-10pm

Saturday 01-Feb-20 9-5pm

Sunday 02-Feb-20 9-5pm

Wednesday 05-Feb-20 4-8pm

Saturday 08-Feb-20 9-5pm

Wednesday 12-Feb-20 4-8pm

Saturday 15-Feb-20 9-5pm

Monday 17-Feb-20 4-8pm

Wednesday 19-Feb-20 4-8pm

Monday 24-Feb-20 4-8pm

Wednesday 26-Feb-20 4-8pm

Saturday 29-Feb-20 9-5pm

Wednesday 04-Mar-20 4-8pm

Saturday 07-Mar-20 Overnight

Sunday 08-Mar-20 Overnight

Monday 16-Mar-20 4-8pm

Wednesday 18-Mar-20 4-8pm

Saturday 21-Mar Overnight

Sunday 22-Mar-20 Overnight

Wednesday 25-Mar-20 4-8pm

Saturday 28-Mar-20 Overnight Back-up

Sunday 29-Mar-20 Overnight Back-up

Why:

Employability: Participants will be learning and practicing essential employability skills such as leadership, followership, giving and taking feedback, respectful communication, conflict resolution, debriefing, project management and initiative taking. Participants have the chance to leave with an employment reference.

Volunteerism: This program will introduce participants to the value of community service, and different types of options that are available to them in the city. Participants will also gain experience volunteering for different local organizations.

Community: This program will create a cohort of participants from different backgrounds who will collaborate to complete projects. This cohort community will also integrate with the Calgary community at large to create meaningful connections.

Leadership: Whether it is group management, assessing risk, influential leading, public speaking & instruction, participants will learn and practice many different ways to lead.

Cost: Unique to any other outdoor leadership program, this one has no monetary cost. This gives the opportunity to participants who might not otherwise be able to attend to take part. The cost of a professional outdoor leadership course like this might cost up to $3000 normally.

Outdoor Literacy: This program will instill the essential skills, knowledge and motivation required to become physically active in low-risk outdoor settings. This cluster of attributes can be a fundamental asset for those who want to be ‘active for life’.

Varied focus: Unlike some other programs, this program has a multi-faceted approach where participants are learning many skills that not only help with outdoor literacy, but also who are empowered to take on future initiatives and leadership within their community.


Cost: There is no monetary charge for this program. Participants will sign a contract to establish their intent to be reliable, respectful, and commit to planning and executing both a self-led activity for the cohort as well as a self-led activity for another group.

The retail value of this program is $3,000 per person.


Apply Now

To apply please contact: kate.hamilton@outdoorcouncil.ca



© Outdoor Council of Canada

Donors & Sponsors 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software